I saw that the Rules Committee made a ruling recently related to this troublesome phrase and was hoping to get some clarification about another situation that involves that rule.
Situation: a player lays out and catches a disc; the disc hits the ground but while doing so it's still in the player's grasp. However, the player keeps tumbling, and along the way loses control of the disc while the disc is off the ground. The player then recatches the disc. Is this a turn, since the loss of possession "negated" the possession before that prevented the ground contact from being a turnover?
I've now seen this play occur twice in person, which is why I'm interested. It first came up on RSD here: http://tinyurl.com/y49j5a
which also contains what seems like a pretty good solution for the next rules revision in post 50 by Kareem. But until then, what's the call?
I'm confused, you mention that there is a committee ruling, but then go on to ask for a ruling? The annotated rule (II. O. 2.) seems to cover this scenario (turnover).
The ruling was on a slightly different issue (on the google groups forum). But thanks for the pointer to the annotated rules; I had forgotten they were there and hadn't realized that there had been one for this issue.