Just a small question someone asked me that I felt was slightly ambiguous. First, the relevant rule:
VIII. B. 6. d. If the disc initially hits an out-of-bounds area, the receiving team may put the disc into play:
1.at the spot determined by IX.H; or
2.after signaling for a brick or middle by fully extending one hand overhead and calling “brick” or “middle” before gaining possession of the disc, either at a.the brick mark closest to the end zone that the receiving team is defending if “brick” was called, or
b.the spot on the long axis of the playing field proper nearest to the spot determined by IX.H if “middle” was called.
Ok, so ignoring the fact that no one ever gives the correct signal (no, you don't need to clap your hands over your head) and the fact that NO ONE ever actually *calls* "brick" or "middle," this rule references the recieving *TEAM* doing one of the aforementioned things.
So the question is, if someone on your team, not you (the person who is going to pick up the disc), calls middle, are you committed to taking the disc at middle, even though you yourself have not called middle and may have wanted to immediately play it from the sideline?
we were just discussing this rule, also trying to puzzle out if the person who signals for the brick/middle has to put it into play.
There isn't anything explicitly stated in the rules that the person that signals must be the one to put it into play as it only refers to the "receiving team", not "a member of the receiving team."
As for committing to taking it to the middle/brick, my initial inclination is yes, but I would defer to a member of the SRC for that determination.